Free Web Hosting by Netfirms
Web Hosting by Netfirms | Free Domain Names by Netfirms

3/5/05 12:49PM - Mountain time

AMENWORLD.COM is a European based hosting company. I got an e-mail today pretending to be from Ebay wanting me to log in and update my information.... 

It looked something like this... (marked RED by me for DANGER) 

eBay NewYears User Agreement Update

It's that time of year again! With 2005 now upon us, we have updated the eBay user agreement. As a result of the update, your account will be restricted until you have followed the link below and reconfirmed your contractual agreement with eBay. We apologize for any inconvience as a result of the update, but as a large e-commerce entity we are required to receive an updated agreement at the beginning of each year.

After agreeing to the contract linked below, please feel free to check out some of the new auction styles for 2005. eBay now features pre-set auction details making selling easier than ever! Simply have eBay find your item, and it will present you with a preset information block regarding your product.

Here at eBay, we are constantly working harder to make your auctions this year better then ever. We will be continuously adding features to improve your eBay experience like never before, and your eBay account is a first row seat to the action! So dont let your account expire, update your settings today, its a simple process, and will only take a few moments. All accounts not verified by March 30, 2005, will be subject to deactivation, and it may be required to register again to continue using eBay services.

To update your account now, please follow the link below, validate your information, and confirm your acceptance of the updated agreement.

https://signin.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?UpdateAgreement 

Fortunately I am astute enough to look beyond the obvious and discover that the "source" of the e-mail reveals that anyone clicking on that link is REALLY re-directed to http://62.193.217.91/eBayISAPI.php 
DANGER DANGER WARNING WARNING - if you click on that link you are NOT talking to ebay!

I did a "whois" lookup on IP# 62.193.217.91  and discovered that it is assigned to AMENWORLD.COM

I called them by international long distance and was referred to the "click on me to chat" link on their website where they were less than cooperative. The transcript is below... 

CrappyCompanies : I need to talk to someone on your SECURITY staff immediately.** You are now speaking with Ignas, Amenworld - Online Team. **
Ignas : Would you like to report abuse?
CrappyCompanies : hello
CrappyCompanies : someone is pfishing from your site... IP = 62.193.217.91
CrappyCompanies : trying to masquerade as EBAY.COM - this IP needs to be shut down immediately
Ignas : Even though we do our best in making sure our servers are not used for illegal activities, we realise that we cannot control everything that happens in all of our servers. In order to report any misuse of them, please send an email to abuse@amenworld.com specifying the following information:
- IP address / server name
- In case of SPAM: mail headers of the SPAM message
- In case of break-in attempt: the log file section where the attacks are recorded
Ignas : The abuse@amenworld.com email address is direct connect to our abuse department
CrappyCompanies : FUCK THAT PRE-RECORDED ABUSE SHIT - you need to shut down 62.193.217.91 immdeiately
CrappyCompanies : FUCK SENDING E_MAILS - this requires IMMEDIATE ATTENTION
Your party has left this session.

Well, they were warned - now they can live on my website in infamy because they want to let PFISHING SCAMMING ASSHOLES live on their host.

UPDATE 3/6/2005 9:30PM Mountain time - PFISHING SITE STILL UP